NURP banner graphic
Home About Research Technology Centers News Funding Library
menu
submenu
Hot Topics

NURP and the Steamship Portland Documentary
This story entered on 5th Mar, 2004 08:02:44 AM PST

As noted in an e-mail sent by Admiral Lautenbacher this week, a TV documentary about the wreck of the ill-fated steamship Portland, known as “New England's Titanic,” airs on March 5 on The Science Channel.

The documentary looks at last year's survey of the wreck by
NOAA's National Marine Sanctuary Program and NOAA's Undersea Research Program Center at the University of Connecticut. The Portland and all 192 passengers and crew went down during a fierce storm in November 1898. The wreck lies within NOAA's Stellwagen Bank National Marine Sanctuary. NOAA's Office of Ocean Exploration supported the survey.

Broadcasts are on March 5:
9 p.m. & 12 a.m. EST
8 p.m. & 11 p.m. Central
6 p.m. & 9 p.m. Pacific

In the Washington, DC area, NOAA staff can enjoy a special screening of the film at Discovery Communications this Monday at 5:30 p.m. Discovery is adjacent to NOAA's Silver Spring campus. If you'd like to attend, please RSVP by COB March 5. Contact: Michael.T.Murphy@noaa.gov, or 301-713-3125, ext. 169.

Person interviewed: Ivar Babb, Director of NURP Center at Univ. of Connecticut
News organization: Science Channel
Air time: Fri, March 5 2004 at 9:00 PM Eastern

Contact information
Name: Ivar G Babb
Tel: (860) 405-9121
babb@uconnvm.uconn.edu

 

NURP logo Home   About   Research   Technology   Centers   News   Funding   Library
NOAA's Undersea Research Program
1315 East-West Highway, R/NURP - Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone: (301) 713-2427   Fax: (301) 713-1967  
Email
bullet  Contact Info bullet  Privacy Policy bullet  Disclaimer bullet Site Index
NOAA logo
Updated: January 20, 2005